Advertisement Remove ads

Gay rugby’s next ‘world cup’ location has just been announced

  • TwitterFacebookRedditEmail

The next Bingham Cup, often described as gay rugby’s ‘world cup’, is to be held in Amsterdam.

The Amsterdam Lowlanders will host the competition, officially known as the Mark Kendall Bingham Memorial Tournament, in the Dutch capital in June 2018.

Gay rugby’s next ‘world cup’ location has just been announced

Taking on the mantle of host city, Amsterdam came first in a vote by all sixty International Gay Rugby (IGR) clubs beating London’s King Cross Steelers, Edinburgh’s Caledonian Thebans and Toronto’s Muddy York.

The ninth competition since the tournament’s inception in 2002, it’s the first time the contest will be held on continental Europe.

Advertisement Remove ads

Andrew Purchas, chairman of IGR, said the quality of all the bids received was exceptional and showcased the importance of diversity and inclusion in sport.

“The Amsterdam Lowlanders are one of IGR’s most active and successful clubs, having competed in the last seven Bingham Cups and won numerous trophies and awards,” he said.

“This vote reflects their high standing in the gay rugby community and our confidence that they will deliver an outstanding rugby tournament worthy of their tagline: ‘Prepare for Impact’.”

Marc-Paul Stufkens, chairman of the Amsterdam Lowlanders’ bid committee said: “It is fantastic that the Bingham Cup is coming to Amsterdam in 2018.

“I’m extremely grateful for the confidence placed in us by so many IGR clubs from across the world.

Advertisement Remove ads

“Our bid promised a professional, personal and friendly tournament and we won’t disappoint.”

The Bingham Cup was established in memory of gay rugby player Mark Bingham, one of the passengers who fought back against hijackers during the 9/11 terrorist attacks.

Although Mark and his fellow passengers didn’t survive, they have been recognised as preventing the hijackers from reaching their intended target.

Watch the video of Amsterdam’s bid video below.

Comments (0)

MyPinkNews members are invited to comment on articles to discuss the content we publish, or debate issues more generally. Please familiarise yourself with our community guidelines to ensure that our community remains a safe and inclusive space for all.

Loading Comments loading