US: Federal government to recognise same-sex marriages in 7 new states

PinkNews logo with white background and rainbow corners

The US federal government is set to recognise marriages between gay and lesbian couples in seven new states.

Same-sex marriages will now be recognised in Indiana, Oklahoma, Utah, Virginia, Wisconsin, Colorado and Nevada.

According to the US Justice Department, it will work to make sure the couples are afforded federal benefits soon.

Today’s announcement comes on the back of a decision by the US Supreme Court two weeks ago to allow lower courts’ rulings to stand in three appeals in which same-sex marriage bans were struck down.

Twenty-six states now have federal recognition of same-sex marriage, and the District of Columbia.

US Attorney General Eric Holder announced that the US is getting “closer to equality for LGBT Americans.”