UKIP and Tories abstain on EU motion to recognise same-sex marriage

Illustrated rainbow pride flag on a white background.

A number of UKIP and Conservative Members of European Parliament have voted against or abstained on a motion praising same-sex marriage, nearly a year after the UK’s first weddings.

The European Parliament voted on a resolution yesterday on LGBT rights.

It reads: “The European Parliament takes note of the legalisation of same-sex marriage or same-sex civil unions in an increasing number of countries – 17 to date – around the world; encourages the EU institutions and the Member States to further contribute to reflection on the recognition of same-sex marriage or same-sex civil union as a political, social and human and civil rights issue.”

Despite the resolution passing by a vote of 472-115, a number of British MEPs abstained or voted against.

A number of UKIP MEPs who were present abstained on the resolution, including John Stewart Agnew, Jonathan Arnott, Janice Atkinson, Gerald Batten, James Carver, David Coburn, Bill Etheridge, Ray Finch, Nathan Gill, Roger Helmer, Mike Hookem, Patrick O’Flynn, Julia Reid, Winberg, and Steven Woolfe. Party leaders including Nigel Farage and Paul Nuttall were not present.

Conservative MEPs including Jacqueline Foster, Andrew Lewer, Anthea McIntyre and Charles Tannock voted against, while David Campbell Bannerman, Daniel Dalton and Ashley Fox abstained.

The only remaining Liberal Democrat MEP, Catherine Bearder, told PinkNews: “It’s disappointing to see a number of Conservative MEPs failing to back the recognition of same-sex marriages across Europe.

“Gay couples should have same right to marry as everyone else. We must continue fighting to ensure equal marriage becomes the norm across the EU.”