Here’s how to stop Tyson Fury winning Sports Personality of the Year today

The BBC’s Sports Personality of the Year is set to be crowned this evening – and here’s what you need to do to vote.

Heavyweight boxing champ Tyson Fury is up for the ‘personality’ award this evening – despite claiming that homosexuality and paedophilia will bring about the apocalypse.

The boxer has simultaneously stood by his comments and denied being homophobic – while also claiming that sex with children was legalised by a fictional ‘Gay Rights Act 1977‘.

Despite criticism, the BBC has refused to back down – with Director-General Tony Hall insisting the matter must be left up to public vote.
Here’s how to stop Tyson Fury winning Sports Personality of the Year today
Given his suggestion, here’s how to make your voice heard.

The show will be aired live on BBC One at 18:50 this evening – with voting set to open shortly after.

You can cast your vote for BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2015 by phone – but you can also do it for free online.

In order to vote, you will need to register for a BBC iD. Once you have done that, simply visit once voting has opened during the show, and click on the Vote Now page.

The winner of the combined phone and online vote will be announced during the show.

Voting is limited to once per person.

Aside from Fury, there’s a plethora of contenders to choose from, including a number of strong LGBT allies.

The other nominees are athletes Jessica Ennis-Hill, Mo Farah and Greg Rutherford, tennis player Andy Murray, F1’s Lewis Hamilton, footballer Lucy Bronze, cyclists Chris Froome and Lizzie Armitstead, swimmer Adam Peaty, gymnast Max Whitlock and rugby league’s Kevin Sinfield.

Team GB athlete Tom Bosworth, who came out in October, praised Mo Farah for “not batting an eyelid when I told him I was gay” – even given the runner’s devout faith background.

Andy Murray has also reached new heights with the help of coach Amélie Mauresmo – dedicating a win to her after she welcomed a child with her female partner.

Greg Rutherford has threatened to snub the awards entirely if Tyson Fury remains in the shortlist.