Local elections 2018: The far-right loses out, and which LGBT+ councillors have secured a seat?

UKIP has lost all of its 92 seats while Anne-Marie Waters’ For Britain party came last in nearly every seat it contended in the local elections on Thursday.

The UK Independence Party, which is currently led by Gerard Batten – a man who called same-sex marriage a “nightmare” – has lost the vast majority of its seats in the vote.

UKIP had lost 92 out of its 540 seats by Friday morning as the results came in, reported The i.


Rosettes are pictured at the United Kingdom Independence Party (UKIP) conference (Carl Court/Getty)

This might not come as a surprise because the anti-EU far-right party has changed its leader five times in the past two years. There have also been questions over whether UKIP will survive in its current form.

And UKIP is not the only right-wing extremist party to experience a crushing defeat at the polls.

Far-right party For Britain, has done “really badly” in the few seats it contested, mainly coming last, reported The Guardian‘s Peter Walker.

“Niche far-right news. New party of ex-Ukip anti-Muslim obsessive Anne-Marie Waters, For Britain, has done *really* badly in the few seats it contested, mainly coming last. Some vote totals: Washington: 156, Leeds: 489, 238, 162, 168, 241, Hartlepool: 195, Sandwell: 135, 258, 256,” wrote the political correspondent.

The party, which is backed by singer Morrissey, runs on an anti-Muslim, anti-immigration agenda.


A polling station sign points the way for people to vote in local elections in London on May 3, 2018. (BEN STANSALL/AFP/Getty)

A list of the successful LGBT+ candidates can be found below:


John Howard, Redbridge

James Lewis, Kippax

Richard Dunbar, Bradford

Chris Lloyd, Greenwich

Deidre Costigan, Ealing

Jonathan Pryor, Leeds

Oliver Ryan, Manchester

Danny Thorpe, Greenwich

Stefano Borella, Bexley

Neale Gibson, Sheffield

Jonathan Simpson, Camden

Harry Doyle, Liverpool

Adam Harrison, Bloomsbury

Rishi Madlani, Camden

Nick Forbes, Newcastle

Tom Hayes, Oxford

Paul Kenyon, Liverpool


Jed Dwight, Sutton

Elliot Colburn, Sutton

Liberal Democrats:

Victor Chamberlain, Borough and Bankside

Shepherd-DuBey, Wokingham

Avril Coelho, Hampton North

Jake Short, Carshalton Central, Sutton

Nick da Costa, Alexandra

Josh Dixon, Alexandra

Luke Crawley-Harrison, Crouch End

Scott Emery, Muswell Hill

Justin Hinchcliffe, Fortis Green

Know someone that we’ve missed? Contact us at [email protected],