Cher releases full ‘Gimme! Gimme! Gimme!’ track from ABBA covers album Dancing Queen

Cher in Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again

Cher has dropped the full version of her cover of ABBA’s “Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)”, as she officially announced upcoming ABBA covers album Dancing Queen.

The gay icon recently announced she had recorded a full album of covers of classic ABBA tracks, fresh off of her appearance in Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again.

It will be Cher’s first full album since 2013’s Closer to the Truth, which spawned singles “Woman’s World” and “I Hope You Find It”.

Cher today dropped a full version of her cover of iconic ABBA track  “Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)”, ahead of the launch.

She also unveiled the cover art for the covers album Dancing Queen, which will be released on September 28, 2018.

Cher said: “I’ve always liked ABBA and saw the original Mamma Mia musical on Broadway three times.

“After filming Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again, I was reminded again of what great and timeless songs they wrote and started thinking ‘why not do an album of their music?’

“The songs were harder to sing than I imagined but I’m so happy with how the music came out. I’m really excited for people to hear it. It’s a perfect time.”

The full track listing is:

1. “Dancing Queen”
2. “Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)”
3. “The Name Of The Game”
4. “SOS”
5. “Waterloo”
6. “Mamma Mia”
7. “Chiquitita”
8. “Fernando”
9. “The Winner Takes It All”
10. “One Of Us”

“Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)” is her second cover to be released following “Fernando”, which was included on the Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again soundtrack.

Cher announced the project in July while promoting Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again.

Appearing on Today, she revealed: “After I did Fernando, I thought it would really be fun to do an album of ABBA songs… so I did!”

Speaking about the album, she teased: “It’s not what you think of when you think ABBA, ’cause I did it in a different way.”

`Cher attends the UK Premiere of Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again at Eventim Apollo on July 16, 2018 in London, England. (John Phillips/Getty)

Cher starred in Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again (John Phillips/Getty)

It was announced earlier this year that all four members of ABBA – Agnetha Fältskog, Björn Ulvaeus, Benny Andersson, and Anni-Frid Lyngstad – have reunited to record two new songs.

One of the new songs, “I Still Have Faith in You”, will be heard for the first time in a TV special in December.

The band said: “We all felt that, after some 35 years, it could be fun to join forces again and go into the recording studio.

“So we did. And it was like time had stood still and we had only been away on a short holiday.

“It resulted in two new songs and one of them I Still Have Faith In You will be performed by our digital selves in a TV special produced by NBC and the BBC aimed for broadcasting in December.

“We may have come of age, but the song is new. And it feels good.”

During their eleven-year career, the group sold almost 400 million singles and albums around the world.

Dancing Queen and Fernando are their biggest-selling songs worldwide.

The band decided to call it quits in 1983.

They had a tumultuous time personally while they were an active group, with two marriages and divorces during the lifespan of the group’s success.