BRIT Awards 2019: LGBT+ musicians lead nominations

The nominations for the 2019 BRIT Awards have been announced, revealing that LGBT+ and female talent lead the way.

Anne-Marie is the most nominated artist, alongside Dua Lipa, with four nominations. Jess Glynne, Janelle Monáe, Years & Years, and Sam Smith also feature in the nominations.

Years & Years received a nomination for British Group and will go against the Arctic Monkeys, Gorillaz, Little Mix, and The 1975.

Writing on Twitter after the nominations announcement, frontman Olly Alexander said: “Thank god cos I’ve been mood boarding the outfit for a long time already.”

The award for ‘British Female’ looks set to be the most hotly-contested with Florence + the Machine, Jorja Smith, Anne-Marie, Lily Allen, and Jess Glynne competing for the win.

Last year, Anne-Marie revealed she was attracted to both men and women but didn’t want to put a label on it.

The 1975 and Anne-Marie both receive their second nominations this year for British Album, alongside Jorja Smith, Florence + The Machine, and George Ezra.

The nominations for ‘British Single’ see the ten best-selling British singles compete against one another. Anne-Marie receives her third nomination this year with “2002”, while Dua Lipa’s “IDGAF”, Jess Glynne’s “I’ll Be There”, and Clean Bandit featuring Demi Lovato’s “Solo” are also amongst the shortlist.

At last year’s ceremony, Sam Smith failed to be nominated for a single category but has been nominated for ‘British Male’ at this year’s ceremony. He will compete for the award alongside Craig David, Aphex Twin, Giggs, and George Ezra.

International LGBT+ musicians also recognised

The five musicians nominated for International Male are Drake, Eminem, Kamasi Washington, Shawn Mendes, and Travis Scott.

Cardi B, Camilla Cabello, Christine and the Queens, Ariana Grande, and Janelle Monáe all compete for International Female.

In April,  Monáe came out as queer and recently joined the cast of the upcoming Gloria Steinem biopic. In the film, Monae will play African-American feminist icon Pitman Hughes.

Billboard's 13th Annual Women In Music Event. Janelle Monáe is now set to join the cast of the upcoming Gloria Steinem biopic.

Theo Wargo/Getty

“Me just existing and being myself is making change and making things easier for other young queer kids.”

— Kevin Abstract, Brockhampton

The award for International Group will be given to either The Carters (Aka Beyonce & Jay-Z), First Aid Kit, Brockhampton, Nile Rodgers and Chic, or Twenty One Pilots.

Kevin Abstract, one of the founding members of Brockhampton, told BBC News last year that being openly gay in the hip hop community can be difficult. “I have to exist in a homophobic space in order to make change and that homophobic space would be the hip hop community,” he said.

The rapper added: “So, me just existing and being myself is making change and making things easier for other young queer kids.”

An ‘incredible year’ for British talent

British Artist Video will see Anne-Marie, Calvin Harris featuring Dua Lipa, Clean Bandit featuring Demi Lovato, Dua Lipa, Jax Jones featuring Ina Wroldsen, Jonas Blue featuring Jack & Jack, Liam Payne and Rita Ora, Little Mix featuring Nicki Minaj, Rita Ora, and Rudimental featuring Jess Glynn, Macklemore and Dan Caplen compete against one another.

Jason Iley, BRITs Chairman and Chairman & CEO of Sony Music UK and Ireland, said: “These nominations illustrate what an incredible year it has been for British talent and remind us what a great time it is to be a music fan, both in the UK and beyond.

“I’m delighted to see the nominations representing talent across a wide variety of genres – from returning artists to some incredibly exciting new talent, who are set to become the stars of the future. With such a strong list of nominees, we are certain of a fiercely contested and exciting night at the awards show in February.”

The BRIT Awards 2019 with Mastercard take place Wednesday 20th February at The O2 Arena, London. The ceremony will be broadcast exclusively on ITV and hosted by Jack Whitehall.