The Americas is a term used to describe the large landmass that comprises all of North and South America. Historically, the Americas were also known as the New World.  The Americas cover 8% of the planet’s total surface area and include the US, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Peru, Argentina, Bolivia, Venezuela, Chile, Paraguay, Costa Rica, Honduras and more. Human beings first settled there between 42,000 and 17,000 years ago. There was a second migration of Na-Dene speakers from Asia, then the Inuit migrated to the neoarctic in around 3500 BC. The first European settlement was founded by Norse explorer Leif Erikson. This was followed by the Spanish voyages of Christopher Columbus which led to conquest, colonisation and the enslavement of large numbers of indigenous Americans. 


Tell us what you think

We hope you’re enjoying the all new PinkNews! We’d love to hear your thoughts and feedback so please take a moment to complete our 2 min survey.