Paul O’Grady, Sarah Waters, Boyzone and Ben Bradshaw all up for Stonewall awards

Illustrated rainbow pride flag on a pink background.

The shortlists for the 2009 Stonewall Awards have been announced. The awards ceremony, sponsored by Barclays, will celebrate people who have had a positive impact on the lives of British LGBT people.

Those shortlisted for Entertainer of the Year are comedian Stephen K Amos, actor Russell Tovey, singer Beth Ditto, boy band Boyzone and TV personality Mary Portas.

Independent columnists Janet Street Porter and Johann Hari, Times columnist Joan Bakewell, Phil Reay-Smith of The Times and Diva editor Jane Czyzselska are the nominees for Journalist of the Year.

Writer of the Year nominees include Oscar winner Dustin Lance Black for Milk, Paul O’Grady for At My Mother’s Knee, Booker Prize shortlist nominee Sarah Waters for The Little Stranger, theatre critic turned playwright Nicholas De Jongh for Plague Over England and Geraldine Bedell for The Gulf Between Us.

Nominated politicians include new Speaker John Bercow, secretary of state for culture, media and sport Ben Bradshaw, Labour MP Chris Bryant and Liberal Democrat MP Lynne Featherstone.

Publication of the Year nominees are Financial Times, G3, Metro, People Management and The Times.

Candidates for Sports Award of the Years are Allison Fisher, Michael Hill, HotScots FC, Hope Powell and Kings Cross Steelers RFC.

Finally, those in the running for Broadcast of the Year are Corrective Rape in South Africa (Samira Ahmed – Channel 4 News report), Economy Gastronomy (BBC 2), Find me a Family (Channel 4), FYI Radio (lesbian and gay youth radio station) and Pobol y Cwm (BBC Cymru).

Voting is currently taking place for three other categories by thousands of Stonewall supporters across Britain. Hero of the Year’nominees include poet laureate Carol Ann Duffy, while those in the running for Bigot of the Year include the Phelps Family, whose slogan is ‘God Hates Fags’.

Ben Summerskill, Stonewall chief executive, said: “The Stonewall Awards recognise talented people who use their skills to champion lesbian, gay and bisexual equality in Britain. Every year the competition ups a notch – an encouraging sign that lesbian and gay visibility is gaining confidence.”

The ceremony will be hosted by Gok Wan and will take place on Thursday November 5th at the V&A in London.

Tickets are £150 + VAT. To book your ticket contact [email protected] / 020 7593 1875.

Comments (0)

MyPinkNews members are invited to comment on articles to discuss the content we publish, or debate issues more generally. Please familiarise yourself with our community guidelines to ensure that our community remains a safe and inclusive space for all.

Loading Comments