Jane Lynch, Colin Firth and Martina Navratilova shortlisted for Stonewall awards

PinkNews logo on a pink background surrounded by illustrated line drawings of a rainbow, pride flag, unicorn and more.

Gay charity Stonewall has announced the celebrity nominees for its annual awards.

The yearly event, to be held on November 4th in central London, celebrates positive contributions to LGB life by celebrities and other public figures.

Actors Jane Lynch, Colin Firth and John Partridge, musician Kele Okereke and writer/actor Simon Amstell are shortlisted for ‘Entertainer of the Year’.

Soaps dominate the nominations for Broadcast of the Year, with EastEnders, Emmerdale and Coronation Street battling it out

This year, those nominated for Publication of the Year are Attitude magazine, Midlands Zone, The Lawyer, The Times and Radio Times.

Daily Mirror and The Sun sports commentators John Cross and Bill Leckie, and The Times columnist Caitlin Moran are among those shortlisted for ‘Journalist of the Year’. ‘Writer of the Year’ nominees include Booker Prize shortlist nominees Emma Donoghue for Room and Damon Galgut for In a Strange Room.

Nominated politicians include Speaker John Bercow, Lord Avebury, Baroness Campbell of Surbiton and Councillor Steve Reed, leader of Lambeth Council.

A celebrity panel including author Sarah Waters and MP Margot James will decide the winners of these categories, while Stonewall supporters will vote for the Bigot of the Year, Hero of the Year and Community Group of the Year.

The ceremony will be presented by lesbian broadcaster and comic Sue Perkins and tickets for the event cost £150 plus VAT, with all ticket sales going towards Stonewall’s work.

Ben Summerskill, Stonewall chief executive, said: “This year’s Stonewall Awards nominees include openly-gay sport stars, flagship soap operas, mainstream lesbian, gay and straight entertainers, tabloid and quality broadsheet journalists and politicians from all three main parties.

“The diversity of those in the running for an award demonstrates how gay equality has embedded itself into 21st century British life – which we think is a real cause for celebration.’

Bigot of the Year
Frederick Forsyth
Tory MP Chris Grayling
Bishop of Leeds Arthur Roache
Suzanne Wilkinson
AA Gill

Hero of the Year
Clare Balding
Joe McElderry
Gareth Thomas
Kath Gillespie Sells
Dr Jeffrey John

Entertainer of the Year
Simon Amstell
Colin Firth
Jane Lynch
Kele Okereke
John Partridge

Broadcast of the Year

Coronation Street (ITV)
Dispatches-Africa’s Last Taboo (Channel 4)
EastEnders (BBC)
Emmerdale (ITV)
The Sex Education Show (Channel 4)

Journalist of the Year
John Cross
Bill Leckie
Caitlin Moran
Martin Popplewell
Patrick Strudwick

Politician of the Year
Lord Avebury
Rt Hon John Bercow MP
Baroness Campbell of Surbiton
Councillor Steve Reed

Writer of the Year
Emma Donoghue, Room
Stella Duffy, Theodora: Actress, Empress, Whore
Damon Galgut, In a Strange Room
Jackie Kay, Red Dust Road
Rupert Smith, Man’s World

Publication of the Year
The Lawyer
Midlands Zone
Radio Times
The Times

Sports Award of the Year
The Caledonian Thebans
Daniel Kowalski
Martina Navratilova
Lee Pearson
Cristiano Ronaldo