Longlist announced for gay book prize

Illustrated rainbow pride flag on a pink background.

The longlist for the annual Polari First Book Prize has been announced.

The contenders for the award, now in its third year, were announced at the London Literary Festival last night.

Judges include the chair and host of Polari, Time Out’s Paul Burston; Rachel Holmes, head of Literature and Spoken Word at Southbank Centre; and literary critic Suzi Feay.

Mr Burston said: “It’s an exciting list which we could all agree on and really get behind. As well as novels, we have books of poetry and memoirs, and a variety of format including self-published books and digital downloads, which reflects the changing shape of publishing today”.

The shortlist will be announced on September 19th.

The longlist:

Julian Corkle Is A Filthy Liar – DJ Connell

Same Again Please – Michael B Jones

London Triptych – Jonathan Kemp

The Bird Keeper – Issy Festing

Love, Hope and High Heels – Clare Campbell

I Don’t Remember You – Stephanie Lennox

Children of the Sun – Max Schaefer

Autofellatio – James Maker

Homo Jihad – Timothy Graves

C’est La Vie – Bruce Hodson