Nicola Sturgeon & Lorraine Kelly among winners at Scotland’s first LGBTI Awards

Scottish First Minister Nicola Sturgeon, and TV star Lorraine Kelly, were among the winner’s at Scotland’s first ever LGBT awards ceremony.

Around 400 guests gathered this evening – including a number of politicians, journalists and community groups – at Glasgow’s Grand Central Hotel.

The awards aimed to celebrate people and groups who have made an impact or contribution to LGBT life in Scotland.

Ms Sturgeon won Politician of the Year and Kelly picked the award for Journalist of the Year – which was awarded to her by PinkNews CEO Benjamin Cohen.

The event was organised by the Equality Network, and featured PinkNews as a media sponsor.

Other winners included STV, which won Media Outlet of the Year and Mridul Wadhwa who was awarded for an outstanding contribution to equality campaigning.

Scott Cuthbertson, Development Coordinator for the Equality Network, said prior to the awards: “We are very excited to be hosting the Equality Network’s inaugural Scottish LGBTI Awards.

The past year has been an amazing year for LGBTI equality with the first same-sex marriages happening across Scotland after many years of campaigning.”


See a full list of winners below.

Community Group of the Year
Ayrshire LGBTQ

Culture Award
The Glasgay! Festival

Diversity Award
LGBT Unity Scotland

Equality Initiative of the Year
LGBT Health & Wellbeing Age Capacity Building Project

Event of the Year
The legalisation of same-sex marriage in Scotland

Journalist of the Year
Lorraine Kelly

Media Outlet of the Year
STV (News & The Riverside Show)

Outstanding Campaigner Award
Mridul Wadhwa

Politician of the Year
First Minister Nicola Sturgeon

Public Body Initiative of the Year
Judicial Institute for Scotland

Sports Award
Pride House Glasgow

Staff Network of the Year
Gay Police Association Scotland

Student Group of the Year
Glasgow University LGBTQ+

Venue of the Year
The Waterloo Bar

Youth Group of the Year
Beyond Gender

Equality Network Friend For Life Award
Anne and Joe Patrizio

Lifetime Achievement Award
Derek Ogg QC