Eurovision 2018: Norway’s Alexander Rybak’s ‘That’s How You Write A Song’ makes Eurovision history

Alexander Rybak, the Eurovision hopeful for Norway, just made history.

His track “That’s How You Write A Song” is the 1,500th song ever entered into the Eurovision Song Contest. The track is a firm favourite to win at the final in Lisbon on Saturday night.

Related: China banned from broadcasting Eurovision after censoring same-sex dancing

If Norway does take the top prize, Alexander Rybak will be the second contestant in the history of Eurovision to win twice.

Alexander Rybak in 2009 (Getty)


Ireland’s Johnny Logan, who won the contest in 1980 and again in 1987.

Back in 2009 Rybak broke all previous Eurovision records when his song “Fairytales” gained 387 points – the highest score any winning song had ever achieved under the old voting system.

Related: How Eurovision became an online haven for LGBT fans across the world

His song topped the European charts after and his album was released in 25 countries.


Norway first entered the contest in 1960 and has won the song contest three times. However, the country has finished last more times than any other competitor.

In other Eurovision news, Chinese broadcaster Mango TV has been barred from televising the Eurovision Song Contest.

The broadcaster was dropped by the contest’s organising body the EBU after censoring two performances during Tuesday’s semi-final.

The EBU said in a statement: “On the 9th of May, Chinese broadcaster Mango TV broadcast the first Semi-Final of the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest live but two performances were censored.

“This is not in line with the EBU’s values of universality and inclusivity and our proud tradition of celebrating diversity through music.

“It is with regret that we will therefore immediately be terminating our partnership with the broadcaster and they will not be permitted to broadcast the second Semi-Final or the Grand Final.”

Ireland took part in Tuesday’s Eurovision Song Contest semi-final in Lisbon, where Irish entrant Ryan O’Shaughnessy took to the stage to perform the track “Together,” a moving ballad about a failed relationship.