PinkNews Awards 2018: Nominees for third sector equality award announced

The nominees for the third sector equality award at this year’s PinkNews Awards were tonight (June 20) announced at the PinkNews summer reception in Edinburgh, supported by Virgin Money and DLA Piper.

The third sector equality award, sponsored by Amazon, recognises the contributions of third sector organisations which campaign for LGBT+ rights at home and abroad.

The list of nominees were announced at the Scottish Parliament, where attendees heard from Scottish Conservative leader Ruth Davidson and Scottish Labour leader Richard Leonard, as well as minister for equalities Angela Constance, Scottish Liberal Democrat MSP Alex Cole-Hamilton and Patrick Harvie MSP of the Scottish Green Party.

Earlier this month a host of politicians from across the political spectrum gathered alongside LGBT+ activists at the Welsh Assembly in Cardiff, in the first of the PinkNews summer receptions.

The First Minister of Wales, Carwyn Jones, championed inclusive sex and relationship education (SRE). “The world has moved on,” he said ahead of taking to the stage. Mr Jones then told the audience: “Too often we just assume the LGBT community know politicians are on their side.”

Nominees for the PinkNews Award for public sector equality were also announced at the event at the Welsh Assembly.

Stacey Solomon and Daniel Brocklebank (Ross Brind)

Following the nominee announcement at the Scottish reception, a panel of judges will be drafted in to decide the winner, which will be announced at the PinkNews Awards on October 17, 2018.

The annual PinkNews Awards has become one of the UK’s most significant LGBT+ events, championing the efforts of politicians, campaigners, charities, businesses, public sector organisations, broadcasters and journalists in the fight for equality for all.

Last year’s event saw impassioned speeches from Prime Minister Theresa May, Mayor of London Sadiq Khan and Labour Party leader Jeremy Corbyn, plus appearances from Ed Miliband, Sir Vince Cable, Ian Blackford, Lorraine Kelly, Stacey Solomon and Pearl Mackie.

Tim Ramsey with Lorraine Kelly (Ross Brind)

This year marks the sixth PinkNews Awards as well as 30 years since the passing of Section 28.

The nominees are: 

Amnesty International

National Trust

St Mungo’s

Victim Support

The PinkNews Awards is supported by Lloyds Banking Group.