Drag Race confirms new spin-off as RuPaul’s quest for world domination continues

RuPaul smile and waves hands

Attention Drag Race fans! RuPaul Drag Race is set to sashay its way to Belgium as it becomes the latest country to get its own version of the smash-hit franchise.

Drag Race Belgium will air on a still to be confirmed network and on WOW Presents Plus for countries outside Belgium.

The news was announced on Friday via social media as the official account for the show launched with an exciting tweet.

“It’s chocolate!?? #DragRaceBelgique is coming soon to @wowpresentsplus (worldwide outside Belgium), casting is open through May 8 at http://dragracebe.com ?,” the message read.

Hopeful drag artists have been invited to apply for the new series, with applications being taken up until 8 May.

Although other details of the new spin-off are yet to be confirmed – including who the host might be – RuPaul Charles and Tom Campbell will again be executive producing the show, along with World of Wonder founders Fenton Bailey and Randy Barbato.

“Drag is a universal language, and Drag Race continues to attract global viewers, so we are thrilled to introduce a fierce new group of queens with Drag Race Belgique,” said World of Wonder co-founders Bailey and Barbato. “As our drag family continues to grow, we look forward to watching these Belgium queens sashay onto our screens.”

The new iteration joins existing versions of the franchise in Thailand, the US, Chile, Canada, Holland, the UK, Spain, Australia and New Zealand, France, the Philippines and Italy.

In fact, the news comes just weeks after it was confirmed that Sweden would also be getting their own version of the program.

The original US series of the drag queen competition – judged by host and co-creator RuPaul – launched in 2009 and just wrapped up its 14th season.

Queens have even had the opportunity to compete internationally in the latest spin-off, Drag Race UK vs The World, which finished last month on BBC Three. This show saw contestants competing for the top prize from countries including the US, UK, Canada, Netherlands, Thailand and Netherlands.