NTAs: Alison Hammond wins with hilarious reaction to awards snub as Heartstopper loses out

Alison Hammond at the NTAs

The National Television Awards took place Thursday night (14 October), honouring the best of British telly, but not everyone thinks the judging was spot on.

The awards were hosted by comedian Joel Dommett and opened with a Robbie Williams medley.

The snub of the evening was deemed by Twitter to be Ant and Dec winning Best TV Presenter over Alison Hammond, Graham Norton and Bradley Walsh. The two have won the award every year since 2001.

Hammond however, chose to see the funny side. Not only did the TV icon split her sides laughing when the winner was announced, but she also made her feelings known in the best possible way while on stage with This Morning co-stars, Holly Willoughby and Phillip Schofield as they collected their NTA for Best Daytime Show.

Taking the statuette from Schofield and Willoughby – who were reportedly booed by fans as they took to the stage – she said: “And let’s be honest, I should have won one of these”.


Another moment of peak shade came when Michelle Visage reacted to Drag Race UK losing Best Talent Show to Strictly Come Dancing.

Sitting next to season three winner Krystal Versace and runners-up Ella Vaday and Kitty Scott-Claus, Visage can be seen, shall we say, grimacing, when it was announced that Drag Race hadn’t won.

Similar outrage has erupted on Twitter after Heartstopper – the queer coming-of-age comedy drama – failed to secure Best New Drama against Trigger Point.

And to this Twitter user: we’re still alive but we’re barely breathing, thank-you for your concern.

Afterlife and Peaky Blinders were among the victors at the NTas, winning Best Comedy and with Cillian Murphy taking home Best Performance in a Drama for his role as Tommy Shelby, respectively.

Gogglebox was voted as best factual entertainment, Anton Du Beke won best talent show judge, and Martin Lewis was voted best TV expert.

The NTAs are unique in that they’re the only UK TV awards ceremony where all the winners are chosen exclusively by the public via a nationwide poll.