Cher drops all-woman music video for SOS featuring trans actress Trace Lysette

Cher has released an all-female music video for her cover of ABBA track “SOS.”

Following on from her appearance in Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again, the gay icon is set to release an entire album of ABBA covers, Dancing Queen.

Ahead of the album’s release on September 28, Cher today unveiled a music video for lead track “SOS.”

The video puts a fresh spin on the song’s bleak lyrics, features a powerful lineup of women miming along to Cher’s iconic vocals in isolation, before slowly uniting and supporting each other in a moment of empowerment.

The clip also pays tribute to ABBA’s original style.

The all-women lineup includes Transparent actress Trace Lysette.

The full cast

Lysette is one of the most well-known trans actresses in the industry, and hit the headlines in 2017 when she accused her Transparent co-star Jeffrey Tambor of sexual harassment, leading to his removal from the show.

Lesbian comic Sabrina Jalees also appears in the video, alongside her baby.

Cher has long been a fierce defender of her son Chaz Bono, who is a transgender man.

The star has also previously tweeted that she is “ashamed” of feminists who exclude transgender women.

Trace Lysette

Dancing Queen will be Cher’s first full album since 2013’s Closer to the Truth, which spawned singles “Woman’s World” and “I Hope You Find It.”

Cher said: “I’ve always liked ABBA and saw the original Mamma Mia musical on Broadway three times.

“After filming Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again, I was reminded again of what great and timeless songs they wrote and started thinking, ‘Why not do an album of their music?’

“The songs were harder to sing than I imagined but I’m so happy with how the music came out. I’m really excited for people to hear it. It’s a perfect time.”

The full track listing is:

1. “Dancing Queen”
2. “Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)”
3. “The Name Of The Game”
4. “SOS”
5. “Waterloo”
6. “Mamma Mia”
7. “Chiquitita”
8. “Fernando”
9. “The Winner Takes It All”
10. “One Of Us”

Cher announced the project in July while promoting Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again.

`Cher attends the UK Premiere of Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again at Eventim Apollo on July 16, 2018 in London, England. (John Phillips/Getty)

Appearing on Today, she revealed: “After I did ‘Fernando,’ I thought it would really be fun to do an album of ABBA songs… so I did!”

Speaking about the album, she teased: “It’s not what you think of when you think ABBA, ’cause I did it in a different way.”

It was announced earlier this year that all four members of ABBA—Agnetha Fältskog, Björn Ulvaeus, Benny Andersson, and Anni-Frid Lyngstad—have reunited to record two new songs.