Outriders: everything you need to know about the new Square Enix shooter including best classes

Outriders PS5

Square Enix’s third-person shooter action game Outriders has finally been released and is already proving popular, with many players wanting to know which are the best classes.

Outriders is set in 2159 and is available on Windows, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X/S. Earth is no longer a viable planet to live on as constant war and climate change have made the planet unsustainable for human civilisation. The human race is forced to fight for survival on the planet Enoch as a result.

As an Outrider, a member of an elite group of pioneers and explorers, you come to Enoch and aid the human colonisation effort of your superiors. But after an unnatural storm called the Anomaly wreaks havoc upon you and your allies, all hell breaks loose.

The game has been hotly-anticipated since the demo dropped a few weeks back, and Outriders saw finally saw its release today across all gaming platforms, with first-time players confronted by a screen that says “choose your path”, which sees them select the best character class they think will be right for them.

Which is the best Outriders class?

There are four characters and classes and each of them brings their own distinct playstyles, which have their own advantages. The four classes include the Trickster – a character that has the ability to manipulate time, the Pyromancer – who can manipulate fire, the Devastator – who can unleash seismic attacks, and the Technomancer – who uses turrets and other devices. You’ll be locked into this class for the rest of the game, so choose wisely.

Square Enix

Which is best really relates to your own playstyle and how you like to play. Are you a strategist, or just someone who likes to go in all-guns-blazing? And do you like to play as a long-range supporter or a close-range tank. Here are some more details of each class.

  • Trickster: Close range, hit and run, manipulates spacetime
  • Devastator: Close range, tank, allows you to stand your ground
  • Technomancer: Long range, support, uses gadgets
  • Pyromancer: Medium range, conjurer, uses fire

After you’ve chosen your superpowers, you leave behind the slums and shantytowns of the First City and traverse forests, mountains and desert settings in the pursuit of a mysterious signal. As the game’s intensity ramps up, you’ll be forced to use your violent powers in combination with an arsenal of increasingly twisted weaponry and gear-sets.

Square Enix

Weapon variety is fairly standard – including shotguns, submachine guns and sniper rifles, though the effectiveness of each type of weapon can be affected by character class, for example, if you’re a Technomancer long-range weapon damage is increased by 15%.

Players will also fight both monsters and human enemies. As the player progresses, the world level (the game’s equivalent to gameplay difficulty) will increase.

There are 15 World Tier levels in total – each level affects your game session’s enemy level rating, legendary drop rate percentage, the chance percentage for higher rarity items, and the power level of dropped items.

The higher the World Tier level, the tougher your experience will be. But you’ll also come away with better rewards for your efforts. Outriders has its own in-game achievement system called accolades. By fulfilling certain combat and non-combat-based tasks, you’ll be gifted with all sorts of banner customisations and emotes.

In short, Enoch really is your oyster.

The game is out now via the likes of Amazon and available on Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X/S, and Stadia.

This article contains affiliate links, PinkNews may earn revenue if you click through and purchase products through the links.