Rylan to host the PinkNews Awards 2023 celebrating the biggest LGBTQ+ moments of the year

This is an image of Rylan Clark. He has dark hair, a short beard. He is wearing a black suit and is smiling.

Broadcaster, author and LGBTQ+ legend Rylan is set to host the 2023 PinkNews Awards, sponsored by Lloyds Banking Group.

The awards will return for their 10th year on Wednesday, 18 October in central London. The annual event brings together the UK’s biggest and brightest LGBTQ+ icons and most influential change-makers, ground-breakers and scene-shakers.

This year’s event, which sees WeAre8 join as presenting partner, will bring a dash of glitter to the capital’s social calendar.

Starting his career as a breakthrough contestant on The X Factor and winning Celebrity Big Brother shortly after, Rylan is a national treasure. From hosting Eurovision semi-finals and his own weekly Radio 2 show to appearing on Celebrity Gogglebox alongside his iconic mother Linda, Rylan is one of the UK’s most sought-after broadcasters.


With one week to go until the 10th PinkNews Awards, we are so excited to announce that the legendary Rylan will be our host for the night! 🌟⁠ ⁠ Best known for his breakthrough on The X Factor, winning Big Brother in its eleventh season and hosting Strictly Come Dancing spin-off show It Takes Two, Rylan will be presenting PinkNews Awards to the best and brightest LGBTQ+ icons of the year and honouring outstanding achievement for LGBTQ+ society.⁠ ⁠ Nominations are now closed, but you can tune in next Wednesday October 18th for live coverage of the Awards to see whether your nominations are a #pinknews winner!⁠ ⁠ #rylan

♬ All I Want Is You – Disco Lines

On hosting the 2023 PinkNews Awards, Rylan said: “What a year it’s been for the LGBTQ+ community. From the challenges we’ve faced, to the increased visibility we’ve seen on our screens, these awards are all about celebrating the people and companies that are making a difference.

You may like to watch

“See you on the 18 October!”

Commenting on the announcement, Benjamin Cohen, the founder and chief executive of PinkNews, said: “We are thrilled to have Rylan taking the helm at this year’s PinkNews Awards.

This a graphical image promoting the PinkNews Awards, which is written in white text over a pink background with a flourescent outline.
The PinkNews Awards, sponsored by Lloyds Banking Group, return to London on 18 October. (PinkNews)

“As one of Britain’s most high-profile and best-loved LGBTQ+ public figures, Rylan is the perfect host to help us celebrate the 10th anniversary of the awards.”

This year’s PinkNews Awards will welcome an array of Britain’s best and brightest public figures and celebrities to celebrate the LGBTQ+ community and the important work done by PinkNews and the wider LGBTQ+ community to drive change.

Previous attendees have included Dannii Minogue, Laverne Cox, Nigella Lawson, Lorraine, Russell T Davies, Theresa May, Kier Starmer and Sadiq Khan.

This is an image of three notable people. On the left is drag queen Danny Beard, in the middle is Ncuti Gatwa, and on the right side is Rina Sawayama
Danny Beard (L), Ncuti Gatwa and Rina Sawayama. (Getty/PinkNews)

Nominees for awards this year include Dylan Mulvaney, Ncuti Gatwa, Alex Scott, Megan Rapinoe, Sam Smith, Virgin Atlantic, Just Eat, Tesco, Wickes and Vodaphone.

Tables for the awards can be booked via the PinkNews Awards website.

Here are the categories for the 2023 PinkNews Awards:

Public voting categories

  • Drag Artist of the Year
  • Entertainer of the Year
  • Ground-breaking Broadcast of the Year
  • Inclusive Fashion Brand of the Year
  • Screen Moment of the Year
  • Social Media Moment of the Year
  • Sports Personality of the Year, sponsored by Sky Sports
  • The Good News Award, sponsored by WeAre8

Self-nomination categories

  • Business Trailblazer of the Year, sponsored by Royal Bank of Canada
  • Brand Ally of the Year
  • Community/Charity Organisation of the Year, sponsored by Lloyds Banking Group
  • Diversity Network of the Year
  • Inclusive Tech Innovation of the Year