Here’s how the new Cabinet voted on same-sex marriage

PinkNews logo with white background and rainbow corners

Here’s how the new Cabinet voted on same-sex marriage
As David Cameron appoints his new Cabinet, we take a look at how they voted on same-sex marriage.

Mr Cameron, whose party secured a majority in last week’s General Election, has today reshuffled his cabinet, appointing replacements for his former Lib Dem coalition partners as he prepares for a second term in goverment.

Despite 136 Conservative MPs voting against the Marriage (Same Sex Couples) bill compared to 127 in favour, Mr Cameron’s new Cabinet so far is mostly in favour of equality. (Note: appointments are still being made)

David Cameron Prime Minister Yes
George Osborne Chancellor Yes
Theresa May Home Secretary Yes
Philip Hammond Foreign Secretary Absent
Michael Gove Justice Secretary Yes
Michael Fallon Defence Secretary No
Sajid Javid Business Secretary Yes
Ian Duncan Smith Work and Pensions Secretary Yes
Nicky Morgan Education Secretary No*
Chris Grayling Leader of the House of Commons Yes
Baroness Stowell of Beeston Leader of the House of Lords Yes
Liz Truss Environment Secretary Yes
Amber Rudd Energy Secretary Yes
Patrick McLoughlin Transport Secretary Yes
John Whittingdale Culture Secretary No
Greg Clark Communities & Local Government Secretary Yes
Justine Greening International Development Secretary Yes
Jeremy Hunt Health Secretary Yes
Theresa Villiers Northern Ireland Secretary Yes
Stephen Crabb Welsh Secretary No
David Mundell Scotland Secretary Yes
Oliver Letwin Minister for the Cabinet Office Yes

At the time of the vote in 2013, all of the then-cabinet with the exception of Mr Hammond, and former ministers Owen Paterson and David Jones, voted in favour.

Nicky Morgan, who is also Minister for Women and Equalities, last year told PinkNews she has changed her mind, and would “probably” now vote in favour of equal marriage.
Ministers with a less senior ‘also attending cabinet’ rank are still being announced – but so far are split evenly between those in favour and opposed to equality.

Mark Harper Chief Whip Yes
Robert Halfon Minister without Portfolio No
Priti Patel Minister for Employment No
Anna Soubry Minister of State Yes
Greg Hands Chief Secretary to the Treasury No
Boris Johnson Not a Minister – political cabinet Not in Parliament
Matt Hancock Minister of State for the Cabinet Office Yes

The list will be updated as more appointments are made.

Comments (0)

MyPinkNews members are invited to comment on articles to discuss the content we publish, or debate issues more generally. Please familiarise yourself with our community guidelines to ensure that our community remains a safe and inclusive space for all.

Loading Comments